CLUE

Energy transition through energy communities

© solar.one IMMO Gmbh & CoKG
© Green Energy Lab

The research project CLUE has been completed. You can download the following documents here: CLUE Project Fact Sheet / CLUE Project – Proof of Concept Description / FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS

The CLUE research project, within the framework of ERA-Net Smart Energy Systems, deals with implementing Local Energy Communities (LECs) in four European countries (Sweden, Scotland, Germany, and Austria). The aim is to acquire knowledge about optimized design, planning, and operation of such energy communities and develop a toolkit for the planning and operation of LECs. Research and development will be executed on technologies with the focus on flexibilities and sector coupling for LEC energy systems. In the area of services, the development of business models and recommendations for an improved regulatory framework will be designed. Demonstrated in the area of stakeholder engagement through partnerships with developers and service providers and the integration of consumers, prosumers and organisations of LECs in a living lab concept.

Implementation in Styria and Burgenland

The “Styrian Pilot Case” is located in the Municipality of Gasen, Styria, Austria. Its main objective is to demonstrate a year-round self-sufficient local energy community based on different flexibilities such as demand-side management and storage technologies. The Municipality of Gasen was chosen due to the large installed PV capacity (15 PV installations with 350 kWp) and a district heating system in place. The latter is relevant due to using a hydrogen storage system that produces heat as a byproduct of converting the electricity to hydrogen and vice-versa.

In South Burgenland, the focus is on the integration of mobility options. To explore this, a local energy community is being set up in the demonstration region which will allow its members to utilize locally generated energy for EV charging at public charge points. The payment system within the energy community is based on blockchain technology, which allows to mint a regional “energy token” (similar to a cryptocurrency such as Ethereum) based on the local energy production. The act4.energy innovation laboratory provides expertise in open innovation and co-creation processes and will concentrate on user-friendliness and the end-user experience for the project solutions being demonstrated.

The following model solutions are being developed in the CLUE project:

Toolkit for energy communities

CLUE

Energiewende durch Energiegemeinschaften

© solar.one IMMO Gmbh & CoKG
© Green Energy Lab

Dieses Forschungsprojekt CLUE ist bereits abgeschlossen. Hier finden Sie die entsprechenden Reports zum Download: CLUE Project Fact Sheet / CLUE Project – Proof of Concept Description / FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS

Das CLUE-Forschungsprojekt im Rahmen des ERA-Net Smart Energy Systems befasst sich mit der Implementierung von lokalen Energiegemeinschaften (Local Energy Communities, LECs) in vier europäischen Ländern (Schweden, Schottland, Deutschland und Österreich). Ziel ist es, Erkenntnisse über die optimale Gestaltung, Planung und den Betrieb solcher Energiegemeinschaften zu gewinnen und ein Toolkit für die Planung und den Betrieb von LECs zu entwickeln. Forschung und Entwicklung werden im Bereich der Technologien mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Flexibilitäten und Sektorkopplung für LEC-Energiesysteme durchgeführt. Im Bereich der Dienstleistungen wird durch die Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen und Empfehlungen für einen verbesserten Regulierungsrahmen entworfen. Im Bereich der Einbindung von Interessensgruppen durch Partnerschaften mit Entwicklern und Dienstleistern und die Integration von Verbrauchern, Prosumern und Organisationen von LECs in einem Living-Lab-Konzept demonstriert.

Umsetzung in Steiermark und Burgenland

Der „Styrian Pilot Case“ befindet sich in der Gemeinde Gasen, Steiermark, Österreich. Sein Hauptziel ist es, eine ganzjährig autarke lokale Energiegemeinschaft zu demonstrieren, die auf verschiedenen Flexibilitäten wie Nachfragesteuerung und Speichertechnologien basiert. Die Gemeinde Gasen wurde aufgrund der großen installierten PV-Kapazität (15 PV-Anlagen mit 350 kWp) und eines bestehenden Fernwärmesystems ausgewählt. Letzteres ist aufgrund der Verwendung eines Wasserstoffspeichersystems relevant, das Wärme als Nebenprodukt der Umwandlung von Strom in Wasserstoff und umgekehrt erzeugt.

Im Südburgenland liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Integration von Mobilitätsoptionen. Dazu wird in der Demoregion eine lokale Energiegemeinschaft aufgebaut, die es ihren Mitgliedern ermöglicht, lokal erzeugte Energie zum Aufladen von E-Fahrzeugen an öffentlichen Ladestationen zu nutzen. Das Zahlungssystem innerhalb der Energiegemeinschaft basiert auf der Blockchain-Technologie, die es ermöglicht, einen regionalen „Energie-Token“ (ähnlich einer Kryptowährung wie Ethereum) auf der Grundlage der lokalen Energieproduktion zu prägen. Das act4.energy-Innovationslabor bietet Fachwissen zu offenen Innovations- und Co-Creation-Prozessen und wird sich auf die Benutzerfreundlichkeit und das Endnutzererlebnis für die zu demonstrierenden Projektlösungen konzentrieren.

Im Projekt CLUE werden folgende Musterlösungen entwickelt:

Toolkit für Energiegemeinschaften