PnP Control Tabs

Development of a plug-and-play control strategy for energy-flexible buildings with a focus on heat pumps

  • ©iStock
  • ©Green Energy Lab
  • ©Green Energy Lab

The increasing use of energy from renewable energy sources requires an increased balance between production (local, regional and national) and consumption in the electricity network. The use of heat pumps (HP) in combination with thermally activated components (TABS) offers great potential for such load shifts, as they can store heating or cooling energy for a longer period due to their high thermal storage mass. As a result, using suitable control strategies, the operation of the heat pump can be designed flexibly in favor of an increased use of renewable energies in the building. At the same time – on a large scale – there is significant potential for reducing the load on the power grid. The project thus makes a significant contribution to the integration of renewable energy and the reduction of electricity consumption.

The widespread dissemination of this concept is currently hampered by the lack of a broadly applicable, standardized control strategy. The aim of this project is therefore to develop a control system for heat pumps in combination with thermally activated components, which can initiate communication with renewable energy producers inside or outside the building and optimize the provision of useful energy accordingly. The requirements of the indoor climate should always be complied with. Above all, the open source and plug-and-play approach (technology that enables external devices to be connected and used immediately with minimal effort) should enable broad application.

Involvement of all partners to create a versatile solution

The active involvement of relevant companies such as heat pump manufacturers and energy supply companies, control engineers and building services planners as well as research institutions is essential from the start. This ensures that the solution that is developed in the project can ultimately be used as open source code by all parties.

The result is a specification for a heat pump control as well as a control that has been implemented and tested in several demonstration objects. At the same time, a platform is being developed so that external companies can use this regulation for their own purposes. In order to be able to implement this regulation more intensively in tenders for construction projects, specific tender texts are created for integrators.


Hier finden Sie eine interaktive online-Landkarte mit der geografischen Lage aller Energielösungen.

FFG-Projekt

Projektleitung

Contact

T:
E:

Project Data

Project duration

Funding Program

Project Type

Project Budget

Project Partners

Pnp Control Tabs

Entwicklung einer Plug-and-Play Regelstrategie für energieflexible Gebäude mit Schwerpunkt auf Wärmepumpen

Die zunehmende Nutzung von Energie aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen erfordert im Elektrizitätsnetz den verstärkten Ausgleich von Produktion (lokal, regional und überregional) und Verbrauch. Der Einsatz von Wärmepumpen (WP) in Kombination mit thermisch aktivierten Bauteilen (TABS) bietet große Potenziale für solche Lastverschiebungen, da diese aufgrund ihrer hohen thermischen Speichermasse Heiz- oder Kühlenergie längerfristig speichern können. Dadurch kann, mittels geeigneter Regelungsstrategien, der Betrieb der Wärmepumpe flexibel zugunsten einer erhöhten Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien im Gebäude gestaltet werden. Gleichzeitig entsteht – im großen Maßstab – ein wesentliches Potenzial für eine Entlastung des Stromnetzes. Damit trägt das Projekt maßgeblich zur Integration von erneuerbarer Energie und zur Senkung des Stromverbrauchs bei.

Der großflächigen Verbreitung dieses Konzepts steht gegenwärtig das Fehlen einer breit anwendbaren, standardisierten Regelungsstrategie entgegen. Das Ziel dieses Projekts ist daher die Entwicklung einer Regelung von Wärmepumpen in Kombination mit thermisch aktivierten Bauteilen, welche die Kommunikation mit gebäudeinternen oder -externen erneuerbaren Energieerzeugern aufnehmen und die Bereitstellung der Nutzenergie dahingehend optimieren kann. Die Anforderungen des Innenraumklimas sollen dabei stets eingehalten werden. Vor allem der Ansatz von Open Source und Plug-and-Play (Technologie, die es ermöglicht, mit minimalem Aufwand externe Geräte anzuschließen und sofort zu nutzen) soll die breite Anwendung ermöglichen.

Einbeziehung aller Partner zur Schaffung einer vielseitig-einsetzbaren Lösung

Die aktive Einbeziehung von relevanten Unternehmen wie Wärmepumpenherstellern und Energieversorgungsunternehmen, Regelungstechnikern und Haustechnikplanern sowie Forschungseinrichtungen ist von Anfang an essenziell. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass die Lösung, die im Projekt entwickelt wird, am Ende als Open Source Code von allen Parteien genutzt werden kann.

Ergebnis ist ein Pflichtenheft für eine Wärmepumpenregelung sowie eine realisierte, in mehreren Demonstrationsobjekten geprüfte Regelung. Gleichzeitig wird eine Plattform entwickelt, sodass externe Unternehmen diese Regelung für ihre Zwecke verwenden können. Um diese Regelung in Ausschreibungen bei Bauprojekten verstärkt umsetzen zu können, werden spezifische Ausschreibungstexte für Integratoren erstellt.

Projektkonsortium

Projektleitung

Kontakt

T:
E:

Projektpartner
Projekteckdaten

Laufzeit

Förderprogramm

Projektart

Projektbudget