Spatial Energy Planning

Spatial energy planning for the new heating age.

Spatial Energy Planning (SEP) has the potential to fundamentally change the heating sector and to integrate innovative, sustainable heating technologies into the future energy system. In the “Spatial Energy Planning” project, the basis for planning for a spatially optimized development of heat supply infrastructures are being developed, taking into account local conditions such as the existing energy infrastructure, land use, and energy resources available from renewable sources or waste heat.

The basics thus created are incorporated into the digital HEATatlas which shows the complex interconnectedness of energy systems, in this way facilitating long-term planning of energy and infrastructure coupled with higher investment safety. In addition, a HEATapp prototype will be programmed that allows for automated queries and can be used in three specific application forms of public administration: Area development, spatial planning, and monitoring of energy strategies.

The federal states of Vienna, Styria, and Salzburg are directly involved in the “Spatial Energy Planning” project; the development efforts are carried out jointly with a large number of partners from the field of research and with selected pioneer communities and cities which provide reliable data for HEATatlas and HEATapp.

Project Consortium

Projektleitung

Contact

T:
E:

Project Partners
Project Data

Running Time

Funding Program

Project Type

Project Budget

Spatial Energy Planning

Räumliche Energieplanung für die Wärmewende.

Spatial Energy Planning

Die räumliche Energieplanung (Spatial Energy Planning – SEP) hat das Potenzial, den Wärmesektor von Grund auf zu verändern und innovative, nachhaltige Wärmetechnologien in ein zukünftiges Energiesystem zu integrieren. Im Projekt „Spatial Energy Planning“ werden Planungsgrundlagen für die räumlich optimierte Entwicklung der Wärmeversorgungsinfrastruktur erarbeitet, wobei die lokalen Rahmenbedingungen, wie die vorhandene Energieinfrastruktur, die Flächennutzungen sowie die verfügbaren Energieressourcen aus erneuerbaren Quellen bzw. Abwärme berücksichtigt werden.

Die geschaffenen Grundlagen fließen in den digitalen HEATatlas ein, der die komplexen Zusammenhänge in Energiesystemen aufzeigt und damit eine langfristige Energie- und Infrastrukturplanung mit höherer Investitionssicherheit möglich macht. Zudem wird ein HEATapp-Prototyp programmiert, der automatisierte Abfragen erlaubt und in drei konkreten Anwendungsgebieten der öffentlichen Verwaltung eingesetzt werden kann: Arealentwicklung, Raumplanung und Monitoring von Energiestrategien.

Die Bundesländer Wien, Steiermark und Salzburg sind im Projekt „Spatial Energy Planning“ direkt beteiligt; die Entwicklungsarbeiten werden gemeinsam mit einer Vielzahl an Partnern aus der Forschung und ausgewählten Vorreitergemeinden und -städten durchgeführt, welche für HEATatlas und HEATapp zuverlässige Daten zur Verfügung stellen.

Projektkonsortium

Projektleitung
Salzburger Institut für Raumordnung und Wohnen – SIR

Kontakt
Mag. Alexander Rehbogen
T: +43 662 623455 30
E: alexander.rehbogen@salzburg.gv.at.

Projektpartner
  • AEE - Institut für Nachhaltige Technologien (AEE INTEC)
  • Amt der Steiermärkischen Landesregierung
  • Amt der Salzburger Landesregierung
  • Energieagentur Steiermark GmbH
  • Energieregion Weiz-Gleisdorf
  • e7 Energy Market Analyse GmbH
  • Gemeinde Bergheim
  • Gemeinde Grödig
  • Grazer Energieagentur GmbH
  • Research Studios Austria Research – Studio iSPACE
  • Stadt Graz - Baudirektion
  • Stadt Graz – Umweltamt
  • Stadt Kapfenberg
  • Stadt Salzburg
  • Stadt Wien – MA20
  • Stadt Zell am See
  • Technische Universität Graz – Institut für Wärmetechnik
  • Technische Universität Wien – Energy Economics Group
  • UIV Urban Innovation Vienna - Energy Center Wien
Projekteckdaten

Laufzeit

Juni 2018 bis Mai 2021

Förderprogramm

Vorzeigeregion Energie

Projektart

Kooperatives F&E-Projekt

Projektbudget

€ 2,7 Mio.